Chris Grayling joins list of Tories standing down at next election | Chris Grayling

Chris Grayling, the previous transport secretary, has develop into the newest Conservative MP to announce he’s standing down at the next normal election.

Grayling mentioned he had been efficiently handled for prostate most cancers this yr and the prognosis had led him to determine it was “time for a change”.

He is amongst greater than 40 Tories who’ve introduced they won’t defend their seat within the election which is predicted next yr.

A combination of new and long-serving MPs, together with those that, like Grayling, have held excessive workplace, had beforehand introduced their departures. They embrace former cupboard ministers Sajid Javid, Dominic Raab and Matt Hancock, “red wall” MP Dehenna Davison and Eurosceptic veteran Bill Cash.

Grayling has been MP for Epsom and Ewell in Surrey since 2001 and served within the administrations of David Cameron and his successor, Theresa May.

The 61-year-old was transport secretary from 2016 to 2019 the place he was given the moniker “Failing Grayling” by opposition MPs over his dealing with of rail timetable adjustments which brought on mass disruption and a £33m Brexit payout to EuroTunnel.

In an announcement posted on social media, Grayling mentioned: “I’m writing to let you already know that I advised the Conservative affiliation AGM on Wednesday that I’d not be standing once more for parliament at the next election.

“Earlier this yr I used to be recognized with prostate most cancers, and though the therapy has been profitable, it has prompted me to assume that after 22 years it’s time for a change.

“The affiliation will now transfer forward and choose my successor as Conservative candidate.

“I’m very grateful to you for the help I’ve been given by you everywhere in the years. I’ll clearly keep on working as regular till the election and can hope to see you at one of the upcoming occasions.”

Grayling additionally served as minister of state at the Department for Work and Pensions from 2010 till 2012.

He was lord chancellor and secretary of state for justice from 2012 till 2015 and was chief of the House of Commons in 2015 for a yr.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button