Site icon News 4 You

FULL LIST: Top contenders for senate presidency

Ahead of the inauguration of the 10th National Assembly, some senators have already indicated an curiosity in vying for the seat of Senate President.

With the conclusion of the 2023 basic elections, consideration has shifted to the National Assembly polls.

The 10th Senate is billed for inauguration on June 13 after the Proclamation of the 10th National Assembly by the President.

The battle for the Senate Presidency has elevated rigidity within the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and contenders are in intense lobbying to win.

Different elements would decide the consideration of who will emerge because the Senate President.

But strikingly, the selection of the subsequent senate president would largely depend upon the zoning of the workplace, amongst different principal workplaces, by the management of APC.

APC National Chairman, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, instructed aspirants searching for presiding workplaces to await the social gathering’s zoning association.

In no specific order, the contenders are as follows:

1 Senator Sani Musa from Niger State 

Senator Mohammed Sani Musa represents Niger East Senatorial District. He is among the prime contenders.

He was born on 11 May, 1965 at Minna, Niger State. He attended the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, the place he bagged B.Sc in Business Administration in 1990, specialising in Banking and Finance. He is popularly known as 313.

2 Senator Barau Jibrin from Kano State

Kano North senator, Barau Jibrin within the just-concluded elections obtained re-elected to the Senate for the third time. Jibrin was first elected into the higher legislative chamber in 2015 and re-elected in 2019.

3 Abdulaziz Yari from Zamfara State

Former Governor of Zamfara, Abdulaziz Yari, emerged because the winner of Zamfara West Senate place below the All Progressives Congress (APC).

4 Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia State) from South-East

A two-term governor of Abia State and Chief Whip of Senate, Orji Uzor Kalu can also be within the race, ought to the place be zoned to the South-East by the All Progressives Congress (APC). 

Recall he had declined to contest for the APC presidential ticket throughout the social gathering’s major as a result of he stated the place was not zoned to the Southeast.

5 Osita Izunaso (Imo) from South-East

Senator Izunaso is representing Imo West. He was first elected into the Senate in 2007, having served on the House of Representatives between 2003 and 2007.

Izunaso is arguably the oldest-ranking senator from the South-East, having been elected to the Senate for the primary time in 2007.

6 Godswill Akpabio from South-South from Akwa Ibom State 

Akpabio is a former Akwa Ibom State governor.

Before contesting for the Senate, Akpabio competed with others for the APC presidential ticket.

However, he stepped down for the eventual winner of the first and now president-elect, Bola Tinubu, on the Eagle Square.

He is a lawyer by coaching and a former governor of Akwa Ibom State. He was the Minority Leader throughout the eighth Senate. He is the speedy previous Minister of Niger Delta Affairs and one of many 2023 presidential candidates of the All Progressives Congress who stepped down for the President-elect, Tinubu.

7 David Umahi from Ebonyi State

The outgoing governor of Ebonyi State, David Umahi, is among the first time period senator-elect jostling to be Senate President from the South East geopolitical zone, banking on the chance the workplace can be taken to the East.

8 Ali Ndume from North East of Borno State

Former Senate Leader and Senator representing Borno South, Mohammed Ali Ndume, was the primary amongst these jostling for the workplace of the Senate President to launch an agenda. He launched a 10-point agenda.

9 Adams Osiomhole from South South of Edo State

Adams Oshiomhole, a former APC nationwide chairman, former two-term governor of Edo State, and erstwhile National President of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) can also be within the race. Although a first-timer, his supporters consider he’s eminently certified for the place.

10 Incumbent president of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan from Yobe State

Ahmad Lawan has been within the National Assembly since 1999.

He spent three phrases within the House of Representatives and would resume his fifth time period within the Senate upon the inauguration of the 10th National Assembly on June 13, 2023.

He is seen as essentially the most skilled amongst these jostling for the place of Senate president.

Lawan has his first diploma in Geography and grasp’s diploma in Remote Sensing from Ahmadu Bello University and a doctorate in Remote Sensing/GIS from Cranfield University in 1990 and 1996 respectively.

Please allow JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.

Source link

Exit mobile version