Wigan Athletic 1-0 Reading – BBC Sport

Thelo Aasgaard’s good strike was sufficient to safe a helpful League One victory for Wigan over Reading on the DW Stadium.

Wigan had threatened first when Martial Godo spun simply contained in the penalty space, however aimed his shot too near goalkeeper David Button.

Wigan had been indebted to Sean Clare for throwing himself into the trail of a goalbound shot from Harvey Knibbs, who had been teed up by Sam Smith.

But it was the house facet who took the lead on 32 minutes, with Aasgaard bending an impressive proper-footed strike into the nook of the web from the sting of the field.

On-loan Fulham winger Godo was unable to run off his downside and was changed by Stephen Humphrys.

Centre-back Liam Morrison, on mortgage from Bayern Munich, changed Wigan captain Josh Magennis early within the second half and he instantly examined Button with a agency header from a nook.

It was nearly 2-0 when Matt Smith led a two-on-two break and determined to chip the goalkeeper from 35 yards, with Button nearly getting again and clawing the ball behind for a nook.

Reading nearly levelled late on, just for Sam Tickle to parry Kelvin Ehibhatiomhan’s fierce drive, after which regain his toes shortly to push the ball away from the hazard zone.

Report equipped by PA Media.



Formation 3-4-3

  • 1Tickle
  • 7Clare
  • 6Hughes
  • 24Chambers
  • 5S SessegnonBooked at 90minutes
  • 8SmithSubstituted forShawat 77′minutes
  • 26Adeeko
  • 14Jones
  • 17GodoSubstituted forHumphrysat 38′minutesBooked at 69minutes
  • 28MagennisSubstituted forMorrisonat 60′minutes
  • 10AasgaardSubstituted forMcManamanat 77′minutes


  • 4Morrison
  • 9Wyke
  • 11Humphrys
  • 12Amos
  • 16Shaw
  • 18Smith
  • 20McManaman


Formation 4-1-4-1

  • 1Button
  • 17Yiadom
  • 24Bindon
  • 3Holmes
  • 20DorsettSubstituted forMolaat 60′minutes
  • 36CraigSubstituted forSavageat 60′minutesBooked at 88minutes
  • 11Azeez
  • 29Wing
  • 7Knibbs
  • 12MukairuSubstituted forEhibhatiomhanat 80′minutes
  • 10Smith


  • 2Mola
  • 5McIntyre
  • 8Savage
  • 15Ehibhatiomhan
  • 22Castro Pereira
  • 27Mbengue
  • 42Vickers

Tom Reeves


Live Text

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button